Monday, June 24, 2019

It's Monday! What Are You Reading #420, June 24th

It's Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week...and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well...you never know where that next "must read" book will come from!

What happened in the past week:

Weekly Memes:
It's Monday! What Are You Reading #419
Teaser Tuesday #427
WWW Wednesday #427
WOW #423
Will the Time Come #420
Third Sentence Thursday #410
Random Reads #396
First Lines Friday #423
The Reward Challenge Update #405
Book Blogger Hop #89
How Well I Stuck to It #257
Wrote that Review Update #254

Week 25 Reviews:
Smokescreen
Brave the Tempest
The Last Widow
The Burning Shadow

Random:
We Have the Cover of Rockton #5!!!!

OK, so I got 17 posts in 7 days, it was a shorter, but really great, week, I enjoyed the books and didn't have much else going on! What about you guys? Happy reading!

So this week I want to read Destroy All Monsters, Dev1at3, My Favourite Half-Night Stand, Roar, Rage, The Virtue of Sin, Wherever She Goes.

A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick Ness, about the life-saving power of friendship.

Solomon and Ash both experienced a traumatic event when they were twelve.

Ash lost all memory of that event when she fell from Solomon's treehouse. Since then, Solomon has retreated further and further into a world he seems to have created in his own mind. One that insulates him from reality, but crawls with foes and monsters . . . in both animal and human form.

As Solomon slips further into the place he calls Darkside, Ash realizes her only chance to free her best friend from his pain is to recall exactly what happened that day in his backyard and face the truth—together.

Fearless and profound, Sam J. Miller’s follow up to his award-winning debut novel, The Art of Starving, spins an intimate and impactful tale that will linger with readers.
Lemon Fresh has seen better days.

After the climactic battle in Babel, she finds herself separated from Ezekiel and Cricket in the wastelands. Lemon’s abilities to manipulate electricity mark her as a deviate, and deadly corporate operatives are hunting her to use as a weapon in the war between BioMaas Incorporated and Daedelus Technologies. Instead, Lemon finds herself falling in with a group of fellow deviates—a band of teenagers with astonishing abilities, led by an enigmatic figure known as the Major, who may hold the secrets to Lemon’s past.

Meanwhile, Cricket finds himself in possession of the puritanical Brotherhood, a religious cult set for a head-on collision with the Major and his band. Searching for Lemon, Ezekiel finds a strange ally in an old enemy, and uncovers a plot that may see him reunited with his beloved Ana.

And inside Babel, a remade Eve hatches a plan to bring an end to the world.
By the New York Times bestselling author who "hilariously depicts modern dating" (Us Weekly), My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a laugh-out-loud romp through online dating and its many, many fails.

Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she's a female-serial-killer expert who's quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.

So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they'll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There's only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spend the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.

But online dating isn't for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie's first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter "Catherine"—Millie's fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she's ever been in person. Soon "Catherine" and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship...but Millie can't resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.

Perfect for fans of Roxanne and She's the Man, Christina Lauren's latest romantic comedy is full of mistaken identities, hijinks, and a classic love story with a modern twist. Funny and fresh, you'll want to swipe right on My Favorite Half-Night Stand.
Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

Legend says that AuroraPavan's ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. Aurora has been groomed to be the perfect queen...but she's yet to show any trace of the magic she'll need to protect her people.

To keep her secret and save her crown, she'll have to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom: He'll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe.

But the more Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her.

When a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there's a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage...

She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she's brave enough.
From New York Times bestselling author Cora Carmack, the second in the captivating new YA fantasy/romance Stormheart series, perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Victoria Aveyard.

Princess or adventurer.

Duty or freedom.

Her Kingdom or the Stormhunter she loves.

If Aurora knows anything, it's that choices have consequences. To set things right, she joins a growing revolution on the streets of Pavan.

In disguise as the rebel Roar, she puts her knowledge of the palace to use to aid the rebellion. But the Rage season is at its peak and not a day passes without the skies raining down destruction. Yet these storms are different…they churn with darkness, and attack with a will that's desperate and violent.

This feels like more than rage.


It feels like war.

A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free -- perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale.

Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she's forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she's thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together.

But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs.

Alongside unexpected allies, Miriam fights to learn--and challenge--the truth behind the only way of life she's ever known, even if it means straying from the path of Righteousness.

A compelling debut novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free.
When it's your word against everyone else's--what do you do?

Bree Finch has fallen on some troubled times: her marriage has ended, she's separated from her young daughter, Charlotte, and she's haunted by a past she can't escape. Routine helps, and every afternoon, during her lunch break, Bree goes for a jog in the park near her office. It's the same every day: the same route, the same mothers with their children, the same people walking their dogs.

One day, during her jog, she spots a young boy a bit older than Charlotte, a boy she saw just the day before with his mother. But his mother is nowhere to be seen now. Nervous, Bree watches the boy as he wanders into the parking lot. And then she watches as a man grabs the boy, forcing him into an SVU. She watches as the boy cries and screams for his mother. She watches as the man slams the door shut, revs the engine and takes off.

She runs after them into traffic, and tries to take a photo, but can't. The SVU is gone.

Bree can't deny what she's seen, and she can't get the little boy or his screams out of her head. But, she's the only one who believes that she witnessed the kidnapping of a child. No one else at the park saw the boy or someone snatching him, and she can't give a detailed description of the child. The police don't believe her, nor does her estranged husband, with whom she has a tense and complicated relationship. Instead, they begin asking Bree the questions: Why is she always alone in the park? Why does she spend so much time there? Does she realize that she makes the other mothers nervous, with the way she watches them and their children?

Then, days later, a woman is murdered--and Bree is the first person the police talk to.

Not because they think she may have witnessed something.

Not because they believe her about the kidnapped boy.

Because she's their main suspect.

5 comments:

  1. You’ve got a great list this week, The Virtue of Sin sounds good, so does My Favourite half time stand

    Have a great reading week

    ReplyDelete
  2. You have an interesting variety of books coming up this week. I hope you enjoy them all. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  3. My Favorite Half-stand Night looks really cute. Check out what I've been reading at Girl Who Reads

    ReplyDelete
  4. I like the premise of The Virtue of Sin. I like a book where the heroine begins to question and voice her own beliefs. Very tempted to read!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments, so comment away! I'll comment back if you leave a post-specific link for me to visit! If you leave that link, I'll always comment back, even if it's like, a month late!

This is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!