Saturday, April 30, 2016

Week 18 Review: What's Broken Between Us

From Goodreads:
Alexis Bass's heartbreakingly beautiful second novel is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider's The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart's brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he's coming home from prison.

Amanda's been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother's recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he's a monster. Still, she loves him. It's her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again--whose sister is paralyzed from the accident. 

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she'll let his choice destroy hers.

My Review:
I enjoyed this book so much! It was a great story about family and about guilt, and dealing with loss after a difficult situation. It wasn't easy, and there were some complicated relationships, but it was really fantastic to read!

The book started off-and ended with her brother doing an interview from prison, and what he showed wasn't all that pretty to hear from someone who only got a year in the drunk driving accident that killed his best friend and caused his girlfriend to become paralyzed. And of course by the end of the book, he's back in prison. Yeah.

This book showed how Amanda has been dealing with this, that she should be sympathetic, but she can't cry or they might think it was for her brother or for herself, not the victim. And the way our society is, she is partially right. Not all people judge that way, but others do.

I really enjoyed Amanda and Henry's relationship, they had this intense loathing for each other, this conflict that was a spark, that led to them falling in love. And then the accident happened, and they pushed their feelings aside. But now it's harder to do that, and those feelings came bubbling  back up, and they dealt with them in interesting ways! And I enjoyed reading that!

This was a really fantastic and enjoyable book, and I really loved reading it!

Author: Alexis Bass
Read: April 26th, 2016
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really great, and it's a SAC 2016 Book and a Sophomore Challenge Book!
Publisher: HarperCollins
Published: December 29th 2015
/5 Hearts
/5 Books
/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!