Saturday, May 28, 2016

Week 22 Review: A Season for Fireflies

From Goodreads:
A year ago, Penny Berne was the star of her high school's theater department, surrounded by a group of misfit friends and falling in love for the first time. Now her old friends won't talk to her, her new best friend is the most popular girl in school, and her first love, Wes, ignores her. Penny is revered and hated. Then, in a flash, a near-fatal lightning strike leaves Penny with no memory of the past year—or how she went from drama nerd to queen bee. 

As a record number of fireflies light up her town and her life, Penny realizes she may be able to make things right again—and that even if she can't change the past, she can learn to see the magic where she never could before.

This captivating new novel about first love, second chances, and the power of memory is perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall and Katie Cotugno's How to Love.

My Review:
Reading this book was a really great experience! We had the beginning, of when her life changed pretty drastically, a year later and how it's changed, and then the struck by lightning, and basically figuring out who she is and what she wants to do!

I felt bad for Penny. She loved acting, and the theatre, and with a few words, pretty much destroyed that life, and started another, one of being the popular girl's best friend. That would be hard enough. But to then lose the memories of the new life or even it's existence? Yeah, that was hard to navigate!

This book, for me, was about balancing those two lives, to have the best of both worlds, and not be focused on one thing, but a little spread out, to experience the variety of life. I know there's so much more that others can get out of it, though!

It was a struggle. Her home life wasn't exactly the most stable with a mom who's had to go to rehab for drinking. But she carved out a good life for herself from both her theatre life, and her popular girl life, and yeah, that was a really great ending! Really enjoyed it!

Yeah, this was a nice, sweet enjoyable summer read about life, love and friendship! Really excellent!

Author: Rebecca Maizel
Read: May 23rd, 2016
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really good, and it's a SAC 2016 Book and a WoW Book!
Publisher: Harper Teen
Expected Publication: June 28th 2016
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!