Saturday, April 22, 2017

Week 16 Reviews: A Court of Thorns and Roses, A Court of Mist and Fury, Wings and Embers



From Goodreads:
A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

From Goodreads:
Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Synopsis:
For Cassian, the brash, handsome Illyrian general of Rhysand's armies, dealing with the opposite sex has always been easy-and enjoyable. But when he's dispatched to the human realm to send a message for his High Lord, Cassian finds himself pitted against Feyre's sharp-tongued, steel-willed older sister Nesta. Honestly, Cassian has been aching for another round against the beautiful Nesta since their first tense meeting, though he certainly hasn't admitted that to anyone-even himself.

And Cassian certainly hasn't admitted that he may have finally met someone not so easily seduced by his quick grin and unfaltering arrogance. 

Look at what happened at that second, private meeting-and why the High Lord's general refused to divulge any of the details of it when he later returned to the Night Court.  

My first review of A Court of Thorns and RosesA Court of Mist and Fury
My Review:
I needed to reread these books! I'd forgotten so much, from how Lucien lost his eye, that they wore masks, and so much more! And so this refresher was really great, because A Court of Wings and Ruin is coming out soon, and I'm desperate for it, it's consuming a lot of my waking thoughts!

I kinda read these two out of order. I was about halfway through ACOTAR and I couldn't help myself, I started reading ACOMAF, and finished it before finishing ACOTAR. Because I'm weird like that. Of course, then I had to read bits and pieces of ACOMAF after finishing ACOTAR, because yeah, so. Freaking. Good!

Tamlin, oh Tamlin. I got really angry at him reading these books! Knowing what he was doing, what he was going to do, oh! Having more details and seeing it from another perspective, like he could've gotten Feyre out that day before the last trial but instead was kissing her, yeah. And while he might have PTSD, he denied it, and that doesn't excuse that he was pretty abusive to her, not in that he'd hit her, but he has a temper, and when she said he was drowning her and he exploded everything-if she hadn't had her powers, hadn't been able to create that shield, he would've hurt her.

When he put his need to protect her over her well being, basically, putting himself before her, in my eyes, given what that did to her, that was further abuse. And this is just my opinion, having never been abused. And that was unacceptable. So yeah, I was really angry at him! Rhys is so much better for Feyre!

A good song for Feyre and Tamlin's relationship in ACOMAF would have to be Neglected Katharine McPhee. The first 6 lines, which can be found here, well, yeah, the walls of the Summer Court Estate would talk about how she reacted when Tamlin trapped her in.

Wings and Embers was so amazing! I actually didn't know it existed until recently! But it was fantastic to get both Cassian and Nesta's POV, since I'm 98% positive that they're mates. Such a great scene to read! I need more!

The pre order incentive for ACOWAR is a poster of the map. And I'm really hoping that it'll include the main continent, because it's been mentioned, at least one named character has been there (we don't actually know Feyre's dad's name, do we?) and yeah, rereading these two books has me really interested in said continent!

So some of the things that I'm looking forward to in A Court of Wings and Ruin, is watching Feyre take down the Spring Court. And Tamlin. And Ianthe. The 3 mortal-presumably turned Fae-Queens. The King of Hybern, whose name we haven't gotten yet. That's going to be really satisfying!

Though I also want to see when Feyre reveals that she's a spy, that she's the High Lady of the Night Court, to Tamlin. Because that's going to be awesome! Oh, and seeing the main continent! And of course, having Feyre and Rhys reunited, and hopefully, having a happy ending!

Yeah, these books were so freaking great, and I need ACOWAR!

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Roses and Thorns #1, 2, 2.5
First Read: May 12th, 2015, May 3rd, 2016
Read: April 20th, 20th, 21st, 2017
Source: Own, Online
Reason Why: Rereading! And this series is so fantastic! And they're 2017 Retelling Reading Challenge Books and Prequel & Sequel Challenge 2017 Books!
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Published: May 5th 2015, May 3rd 2016, May 3rd 2016

A Court of Thorns and Roses:
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars









A Court of Mist and Fury:
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars









Wings and Embers:
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!