Saturday, October 3, 2015

Week 40 Review: Fans of the Impossible Life

From Goodreads:
A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can't get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she's with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it's as if he's been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.

My Review:
Reading this book was a bit hard. The relationships were different then most that we read about, then we know. Because they seemed really great, but they weren't great for those that were in them. And that sucked, because it's not supposed to be that way!

These characters had flaws and difficulties, they're human. Mira had depression, Jeremy was bullied, and Sebby, the boy who was gay, and also a foster kid, with a lack of support. And these things made them up, and effected their relationships. Yeah.

It was a bit of a slow book. One question on the Goodreads page of this book, asked if this book was a slow as The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and someone answered that yeah, it was, and at 3 times the size. I haven't read the other book, but I want to see the movie! So I can't agree without the facts, but it seems likely!

With everything that had been going on, well, the ending was bittersweet, with Sebby leaving, Jeremy and Mira still hanging out, not to mention the teacher who might not be able to teach again because of a false accusation. And that sucked. But there was some good!

Pretty awesome book, I enjoyed it, but it was a bit slow!

Author: Kate Scelsa
Read: September 30th, 2015
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really good, and it's a DAC Book and a SAC 2015 Book!
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Published: September 8th 2015
5/5 Hearts
4/5 Books
4/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!