Saturday, December 5, 2015

Week 49 Review: A Step Towards Falling

From Goodreads:
Cammie McGovern follows up her breakout young adult debut, Say What You Will, with this powerful and unforgettable novel about learning from your mistakes, and learning to forgive. Told in alternating points of view, A Step Toward Falling is a poignant, hopeful, and altogether stunning work that will appeal to fans of Jennifer Nevin, Robyn Schneider, and Jandy Nelson.

Emily has always been the kind of girl who tries to do the right thing—until one night when she does the worst thing possible. She sees Belinda, a classmate with developmental disabilities, being attacked. Inexplicably, she does nothing at all.

Belinda, however, manages to save herself. When their high school finds out what happened, Emily and Lucas, a football player who was also there that night, are required to perform community service at a center for disabled people. Soon, Lucas and Emily begin to feel like maybe they're starting to make a real difference. Like they would be able to do the right thing if they could do that night all over again. But can they do anything that will actually help the one person they hurt the most?

My Review:
This was a really good book to read, it deals with a pretty heavy subject, and I think it deals with it pretty well! Because when you see something bad happening, it's OK to freeze, and yeah, it's hard to do something, but not doing something is worse.

I really enjoyed having both Emily and Belinda's perspectives. Because Belinda saw things in a different way from the rest of us, and we also got the lead up to what had happened to her, the thing that Emily and Lucas didn't stop.

One thing that I thought of, was that instead of having the jocks and other school kids being a part of the play, would be to recruit others from the center for disabled people. Then they could've done the whole play, and the people attending the center could have something to do, and interact with others more like Emily noticed them having a lack of.

I really enjoyed the ending, with the couples together and happy, that was really awesome, and made for really great ending! Both Emily and Belinda deserved happiness, as well as their guys! So yeah, it was a really great ending!

I enjoyed this book a whole ton, and I hope others do, too!

Author: Cammie McGovern
Read: November 29th, 2015
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really fantastic, and it's a SAC 2015 Book and a Sophomore Challenge Book!
Publisher: Harper Teen
Published: October 6th 2015
5/5 Hearts
4.5/5 Books
5/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!