Saturday, May 23, 2015

Week 21 Review: Making Pretty

From Goodreads:
Corey Ann Haydu's third novel is a raw, romantic coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Jenny Han. Haydu has been called "a masterful wordsmith" by Kirkus Reviews.

Montana and her sister, Arizona, are named after the mountainous states their mother left them for. But Montana is a New York City girl through and through, and as the city heats up, she's stepping into the most intense summer of her life. Her father is distracted by yet another divorce, and she's growing apart from her sister. Then she meets wild, bold Karissa, who encourages Montana to live in Technicolor and chase new experiences. But the more of her own secrets Karissa reveals, the more Montana has to wonder if Karissa's someone she can really trust.

In the midst of her uncertainty, Montana finds a beautiful distraction in Bernardo. He's serious but spontaneous, and he looks at Montana in the way she wants to be seen. For the first time, Montana understands how you can become both lost and found in somebody else. But when that love becomes everything, where does it leave the rest of her imperfect life?

My Review:
I really enjoyed reading this book! A story about a broken family, about girls who don't really know what love is, and a difficult situation of a dad marrying a girl thought to be a friend-only a few years older. Yeah.

I was slightly confused in the beginning, who was who, and how they connected, because there were a lot of names. But then some of those names stepped forward as characters, instead of being mentions, and things made a lot more sense!

I didn't trust Karissa from the beginning. And I didn't really like her, using her grief about the loss of her family like that. And then it turning out, that it was all a lie, that her family was alive and well. That was pretty creepy and manipulative!

I really enjoyed the relationship that she had with Bernardo. It was crazy, and unpredictable, and they fit together. But they were young, and she was dealing with this really horrible situation, and things got a little out of control. But they dialled it down a bit! So I hope for good things for them, that it works out!

I enjoyed this book a ton, and I need to read her other two books!

Author: Corey Ann Haydu
Read: May 22nd, 2015
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Looked really fantastic, and it's a DAC Book, SAC 2015 Book and it's going to be a WoW Book!
Publisher: Katherine Tegan Books
Published: May 12th 2015
4/5 Hearts
3.5/5 Books
4/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!