Wednesday, February 24, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday #250, February 24th

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted at Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating!

Broken Crowns by Lauren DeStefano
Expected Publication: March 29th, 2016
From Goodreads:
War rages everywhere and Morgan is caught in the middle in the haunting conclusion of The Internment Chronicles, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Chemical Garden trilogy.

The city is falling out of the sky…

Morgan always thought it was just a saying. A metaphor. The words of the dying. But as they look up at the floating island that was their home, Pen and Morgan make a horrible discovery—Internment is sinking.

And it’s all Morgan’s fault.

Corrupted from the inside by one terrible king and assailed from the outside for precious resources by another, Internment could be destroyed because Morgan couldn’t keep a secret. As two wars become one, Morgan must find a way to bring her two worlds together to stop the kings that wage them…

Or face the furthest fall yet. 


Harmony House by Nic Sheff
Expected Publication: March 29th, 2016
From Goodreads:
Jen Noonan’s father thinks a move to Harmony House is the key to salvation, but to everyone who has lived there before, it is a portal to pure horror.

After Jen’s alcoholic mother’s death, her father cracked. He dragged Jen to this dilapidated old manor on the shore of New Jersey to “start their new lives”—but Harmony House is more than just a creepy old estate. It’s got a chilling past—and the more Jen discovers its secrets, the more the house awakens. Strange visions follow Jen wherever she goes, and her father’s already-fragile sanity disintegrates before her eyes. As the forces in the house join together to terrorize Jen, she must find a way to escape the past she didn’t know was haunting her—and the mysterious and terrible power she didn’t realize she had.

A classic horror story finds a terrifying home in Harmony House, drawing on favorite tropes and edgy, modern characters to create a chilling tale of blame, guilt, and ghostly revenge.


No One Knows by J.T. Ellison
Expected Publication: March 29th, 2016
From Goodreads:
In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows. 


This is Where the World Ends by Amy Zhang
Expected Publication: March 29th, 2016
From Goodreads:
The heart-wrenching new novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world, from the author of Falling into Place.

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivian moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship, as long as no one finds out about it.

But when Janie is date-raped by the most popular guy in school—a guy she’s had a crush on for years—she finds herself ostracized by all the people she thought were her friends. Now only Micah seems to believe she’s telling the truth. But when even Micah expresses doubt about whether or not she was “asking for it,” it leads to disastrous consequences, and Janie Vivian goes missing.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang’s astonishing second novel masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance. 

Yeah, I've gotten all but No Ones Knows from Edelweiss, since I got that from NetGalley, but yeah, other people need to read them, too! What about you guys? Happy reading!

5 comments:

  1. Great picks they all looks and sounds amazing, but No One Knows by J.T. Ellison. It really looks and sounds intriguing and right up my alley. Thank you for the awesome post.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know :) And I'm lucky enough to have got No One Knows from NetGalley :) Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

      Delete
  2. I haven't heard any of these books before. But I know Lauren DeStefano, and I have the first book of The Chemical Garden Trilogy. I haven't read it, though. Harmony House sounds intriguing, but I'm always too chicken to read creepy/horror books. I have also read great things about Amy Zhang's first book, Falling Into Place. And it seems like her second book has the same aura as the first book. But I'm still unsure if I'm going to pick it up.

    Nice WoW list, by the way. -- Little Librocubicularist

    Little Librocubicularist (WoW)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, Lauren DeStefano is such a fantastic author :) And Harmony House was pretty creepy, but not as bad as it could have been! And Amy Zhang is such a fantastic book :) Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

      Delete
  3. Sorry, wrong WoW link. Here's the correct one :) Little Librocubicularist (WoW)

    ReplyDelete

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!