Saturday, September 26, 2015

Week 39 Review: Velvet Undercover

From Goodreads:
Perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray comes this page-turning historical spy thriller from Teri Brown, author of the Born of Illusion series.

Samantha Donaldson's family has always done its duty for the British Crown. In the midst of World War I, seventeen-year-old Sam follows in their footsteps, serving her country from the homefront as a messenger for the intelligence organization MI5. After her father disappears on a diplomatic mission, she continues their studies of languages, mathematics, and complex puzzles, hoping to make him proud.

When Sam is asked to join the famed women's spy group La Dame Blanche, she's torn—while this could be an unbelievable adventure, how can she abandon her mother, who has already lost a husband? But when her handlers reveal shocking news, Sam realizes she can't refuse the exciting and dangerous opportunity.

Her acceptance leads her straight into the heart of enemy territory on a mission to extract the most valuable British spy embedded in Germany, known only as Velvet. Deep undercover in the court of Kaiser Wilhelm II, Sam must navigate the labyrinthine palace and its many glamorous—and secretive—residents to complete her assignment. To make matters worse she must fight a forbidden attraction to the enemy—a dangerously handsome German guard. In a place where personal politics are treacherously entangled in wartime policy, can Sam find Velvet before it's too late . . . for them both?

A thrilling story of one girl's journey into a deadly world of spy craft and betrayal—with unforgettable consequences. 

My Review:
Oh, man, this book was so awesome! I enjoyed it so much, there was so many great bits in this book! I loved Sam's narration, it was awesome, and her skills made her very useful as a spy! So awesome to read!

I didn't know which war this one was at first. But shortly after I looked it up on web, well, the book told me, so yeah, that was awesome, to really know what was going on. Because the German royal family went bye-bye after WWI, and Sam was working as teacher for grandchildren. Yeah.

This book had parts. From her regular life, to her training, to her mission, we watched her evolve, go through these things. And while I confused some people up (her trainer and handler, with another lady) well, just made the mystery all the more better!

Who Velvet was, was pretty important! And it led to a lot of what happened in this book, because the weapon that Germany developed, yeah, it was not great, and if you know this history, then you can probably guess what the weapon is/was.

Yeah, really fantastic book, with a really fantastic ending, everything came together and it was just so freaking good!

Author: Teri Brown
Read: September 25th, 2015
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really great, and her books have been really good! And it's a Historical Fiction 2015 Book, SAC 2015 Book and a WoW Book!
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Expected Publication: October 20th 2015
/5 Hearts
/5 Books
/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!