Monday, June 6, 2016

It's Monday! What Are You Reading #261, June 6th

It's Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week...and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well...you never know where that next "must read" book will come from!

What happened in the past week:

Weekly Memes:
It's Monday! What Are You Reading #260
Teaser Tuesday #268
WWW Wednesday #268
WOW #265
Will the Time Come #260
Third Sentence Thursday #250
Random Reads #236
First Lines Friday #255
The Reward Challenge Update #246
Follow Friday #238
How Well I Stuck to It #90
Wrote that Review Update #95
Show the Books Showcase #13

Week 23 Reviews:
What the Dead Want
And I Darken
Rose & Dagger
Diplomatic Immunity
Out of My Mind
True Letters From a Fictional Life
Wanderlove
The Darkest Torment
The Curse of the Tenth Grave
Sworn to Vengeance
Countdown
Stalemate

Clean Sweep ARC Challenge:
Update 32
Update 33
Update 34
Update 35 and Wrap Up

Random:
We Have the Title of Charley Davidson #11!!!!
We Have the Title of Lords of the Underworld #13!!!!

OK, so I got 30 posts in 7 days, which is a pretty good week! Can't wait for this upcoming one! What about you guys? Happy reading!

So this week I want to read The Almost King, Because I Love You, Double Play, The Gifted Dead, The Night is Alive, and The Problem With Forever.

Return to a world of airships and adventure in this sequel to Take Back the Skies, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Sarah J. Maas.

In the second book in this sprawling saga, Aleks is the youngest of four brothers, each with his future predictably mapped out. But Aleks wants more than a life in his father’s shop. So when he hears his parents worrying about money, he decides to save them the cost of his keep by running away.

Aleks joins the army—but when that doesn't answer his problems, he breaks the law and deserts. Wanted and alone, he heads north, where he stumbles into love, adventure, and a skyship he might be able to call home . . . if he can evade the soldiers pursuing him.

Prepare for another sweeping adventure by nineteen-year-old Lucy Saxon in a series that seamlessly blends genre elements and a compelling contemporary voice.
Eight weeks after sixteen-year-old Andie Hamilton gives her virginity to her best friend, “the stick” says she’s pregnant.

Her friends treat her like she’s carrying the plague, her classmates torture and ridicule her, and the boy she thought loved her doesn’t even care. Afraid to experience the next seven months alone, she turns to her ex-boyfriend, Neil Donaghue, a dark-haired, blue-eyed player. With him, she finds comfort and the support she desperately needs to make the hardest decision of her life: whether or not to keep the baby.

Then a tragic accident leads Andie to discover Neil’s keeping a secret that could dramatically alter their lives, and she's forced to make a choice. But after hearing her son’s heartbeat for the first time, she doesn’t know how she’ll ever be able to let go.
Life is good for lodge owner and sometime hitwoman Nadia Stafford — a couple of dogs, a job she takes satisfaction in and the man she loves at her side as they literally build a home together. It’s as close to normal as a pair of contract killers can get.

Jack knows that sometimes being very, very good at what you do can be very, very bad — for those around him. He’s gone to great lengths to keep his past from catching up with Nadia. He also knows it’s only a matter of time …

Jack is halfway around the world when the trap is triggered. They’re coming for Nadia. And he has no way to warn her.
Politics and magic make dangerous bedfellows.

Deep within the Order, the seeds of corruption have taken root. While younger generations of the Gifted have embraced modern democratic values, a secret society of old-guard zealots seek a return to the past, when only European men of distinguished bloodlines held power.

Now, three venerable European families and a maverick American each plot to seize control of the Order and shape it to their will. A cutthroat game of political intrigue will decide the winner; and the stakes couldn't be higher, for ruling the Order carries with it the power to grant—or deny—an afterlife.

What begins as a battle of wills could turn into an all-out war. And magic could prove deadlier than any missile.
Midnight in Savannah

It's a city of beauty, history & haunting's. And one of the most haunted places in Savannah is a tavern called The Dragonslayer, built in the 1750s. The current owner, Gus Anderson, is a descendant of the original innkeeper and his pirate brother, Blue.

Gus summons his granddaughter, Abigail, home from Virginia, where she's studying at the FBI Academy. When she arrives, she's devastated to find him dead. Murdered. But Abby soon learns that Gus isn't the only one to meet a brutal and untimely end; there've been at least two other victims. Then Captain Blue Anderson starts making ghostly appearances, and the FBI's paranormal investigation unit, The Krewe of Hunters, sends in Agent Malachi Gordon.

Abby and Malachi have a similar ability to connect with the dead and a similar stubbornness. Sparks immediately begin to fly: sparks of attraction and discord. But as the death toll rises, they have to trust each other or they, too, might find themselves among the dead haunting old Savannah!
For some people, silence is a weapon. For Mallory “Mouse” Dodge, it’s a shield. Growing up, she learned that the best way to survive was to say nothing. And even though it’s been four years since her nightmare ended, she’s beginning to worry that the fear that holds her back will last a lifetime.

Now, after years of homeschooling with loving adoptive parents, Mallory must face a new milestone—spending her senior year at public high school. But of all the terrifying and exhilarating scenarios she’s imagined, there’s one she never dreamed of—that she’d run into Rider Stark, the friend and protector she hasn’t seen since childhood, on her very first day.

It doesn’t take long for Mallory to realize that the connection she shared with Rider never really faded. Yet the deeper their bond grows, the more it becomes apparent that she’s not the only one grappling with the lingering scars from the past. And as she watches Rider’s life spiral out of control, Mallory faces a choice between staying silent and speaking out—for the people she loves, the life she wants, and the truths that need to be heard.

8 comments:

  1. The Almost King looks like a good one. Good picks this week. Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! I just read the first book, and now I want to read the second! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

      Delete
  2. I'm looking forward to reading The Night is Alive. Enjoy your books!

    My It's Monday! What Are You Reading? post.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know, me too! I love this series! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

      Delete
  3. All your books look good. I just finished Beacuse I love you. I enjoyed it. Enjoy your books. Happy reading.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! I can't wait to read them! Thanks for stopping by! Happy reading!

      Delete
  4. Happy Reading!!

    ENJOY your books and reading week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver's Reviews
    My It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

    ReplyDelete

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!