Saturday, September 2, 2017

Week 35 Review: The Art of Feeling

From Goodreads:
Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven's New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places, this contemporary YA novel explores the friendship between a girl in constant pain and a boy who feels nothing at all.

Since the car accident, Samantha Herring has been in pain, not only from her leg injury, but also from her mother's death, which has devastated her family. After pushing away her friends, Sam has receded into a fog of depression. 

But then Sam meets Eliot, a reckless loner with an attitude and an amazing secret—he can't feel any pain. At first, Sam is jealous. But then she learns more about his medical condition…and his self-destructive tendencies. In fact, Eliot doesn't seem to care about anything at all—except maybe Sam. As they grow closer, they begin to confront Sam's painful memories of the accident—memories that may hold a startling truth about what really happened that day.

My Review:
Reading this book was just so fantastic! It was just so sweet and amazing and just great! I mean, there was the whole, her mom was killed in an accident that ruined one of her legs, thing. There was also the grieving process with her family which had some bumps. Oh, and there was Eliot.

I've read another book, Painless, which also has a guy who can't feel pain, but also has all the negative symptoms like not knowing he's injured, or problems with his temperature. I really enjoyed reading about Eliot, because he was also super smart and just a bit off, because he didn't know how to connect to people, he pushed people away before they could do it to him.

A good part of this book was therapy, her family because of the loss of her mom, and Eliot because of his condition. Because of said therapy, she remembers details of the accident, that it wasn't quite an accident as it was thought.

How things ended, that was a pretty perfect ending! Just so fantastic that she was able to forgive the person who caused the accident. That the person who orchestrated it all feels like their future is in ruins, because of their own actions. It was sad, what that person cost them, and why, because it was so pointless to do so, and it caused so much pain. And that they can be together, but not all the time, so he can learn to make other friends. It was really nice and sweet and awesome!

This was a really amazing book, and I just really enjoyed it!

Author: Laura Tims
Read: August 28th, 2017
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Enjoyed her first book, and it's a SAC 201 Book and a Sophomore Challenge Book!
Publisher: HarperTeen
Published: August 15th 2017
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!