Saturday, December 17, 2016

Week 51 Review: Falling into Place

From Goodreads:
On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton's laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road. 

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High's most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn't understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn't understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang's haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.

My Review:
I really enjoyed reading this book! I've been meaning to read it for a while. I think scheduled to read this and her second book last December. Which says something about my reading list psychology when I push down a book, and then it's hard to bring it back up because somehow, my brain thinks because I pushed it down that the book isn't as good. Yeah. It's weird. Here's a post explaining it better!

This story was told from a few perspectives. Of the various people after the "accident." Of the events leading up to Liz deciding to do this which became the minutes leading up to the crash. And some snapshots of when she was a young child. All of which have the strange narrator commenting or looking on. It was pretty strange, but it was a good choice! And they told back and forth, mostly, and there were moments of "ah-ha, that's what happened!" So that was really awesome!

Liz thought that she created so much damage to those around her, that the world didn't deserve her. That kind of thinking is messed up. No matter how bad you are for the people around you, you still deserve to live. (Even in prison. Because life matters.)

I loved how physics was used in this book! Like, the 3 laws of momentum. And how the choices and events that happened in the past led to her present and affect her future. So that was really great! And yeah, with her understanding of the 3 laws, made for a really fantastic ending!

This book was just really great, and was a really fantastic read!

Author: Amy Zhang
Read: December 11th, 2016
Source: Bought/Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really fantastic, and it's a DAC Book and a SAC 2016 Book!
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Published: September 4th 2014
5/5 Hearts
4/5 Books
4/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!