Saturday, March 26, 2016

Week 13 Review: My Heart & Other Black Holes

From Goodreads:
A stunning novel about the transformative power of love, perfect for fans of Jay Asher and Laurie Halse Anderson.

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There's only one problem: she's not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel's convinced she's found her solution—Roman, a teenage boy who's haunted by a family tragedy, is looking for a partner. Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other's broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.

My Review:
Reading this book was both meaningful and poignant. I've dealt with depression, and thoughts of suicide. And I can understand the want to have a partner, to not be alone. It's understandable, if something not to ever be wanted-suicide is never the answer.

Aysel grew up with her dad-her dad who snapped on day and murdered the town's hopeful, potential Olympic athlete. And now his brother is heading down a similar path. I kinda wish that the brother would have been a part of this book, but that wasn't this story. This was Aysel and Roman's story.

What happened with Roman's sister, it was a terrible accident. He didn't make a good decision, but it's not his fault that it happened. It was a mix of genetics, bad decisions, bad timing, and bad luck, resulting in nobody at fault, nobody to blame, no matter how emotions might rise.

Really enjoyed them working out that they shouldn't do this, well, Asyel did. Roman took a bit more convincing! Life is precious, and just because something bad happened, doesn't mean that there isn't going to be good later or, or that you don't deserve that good!

I enjoyed reading this book so much, it was short and cute and such a great read!

Author: Jasmine Warga
Read: March 24th, 2016
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Sounded really fantastic, and it's a DAC Book, SAC 2016 Book and a WoW Book!
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Published: February 10th 2015
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!