Saturday, June 3, 2017

Week 22 Review: Mind Games

From Goodreads:
Sherlock Holmes and Miss James "Mori" Moriarty may have closed their first case, but the mystery is far from over in the thrilling sequel to Lock & Mori, perfect for fans of Maureen Johnson and Sherlock.

You know their names. Now discover their beginnings. 

Mori's abusive father is behind bars…and she has never felt less safe. Threatening letters have started appearing on her doorstep, and the police are receiving anonymous tips suggesting that Mori—not her father—is the Regent's Park killer. To make matters worse, the police are beginning to believe them.

Through it all, Lock—frustrating, brilliant, gorgeous Lock—is by her side. The two of them set out to discover who is framing Mori, but in a city full of suspects, the task is easier said than done. With the clock ticking, Mori will discover just how far she is willing to go to make sure that justice is served, and no one—not even Lock—will be able to stop her.

My Review:
Oh, wow, it wa kinda hard to read this book! I mean, it's the 2nd book, and Mori and Lock aren't doing so well together. And plus, her father is still a threat. So yeah, not so cool. So I was kinda worried going in, for the characters, and I didn't want them to have conflict, but it's a book, so of course they do.

Things started pretty benignly. It didn't stay that way. Poor Mori and Lock! Things quickly popped up, with her dad basically threatening her brothers, and him possibly getting off of the murder charges. Which was awful, we know he did it. And because he was a cop, makes the whole situation harder to deal with.

Oh, I felt so bad for Mori, and for Lock. He made a mistake in the first book, and that's changed her feelings for him. And that slowly goes from not ok but dealing, to really bad, tipping point of dealbreaker. And it's teetering hard on that point, badly!

The way the bad guy was in the end, it was like, hey, her mom wasn't a teenager, and didn't have her father to deal with as a dad, instead of a partner. Totally unfair! Plus she had her siblings to worry about, which her mom didn't. So comparing the two, that just totally doesn't work!

Absolutely loved this book, it was just so fantastic, and yeah, can't wait to read more and find out how it's going to end!

Author: Heather W. Petty
Series: Lock & Mori #2
Read: May 31st, 2017
Source: Edelweiss
Reason Why: Loved the first book and her writing, and it's a Prequel & Sequel Challenge 2017 Book and a WoW Book!
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers
Published: December 6th 2016
5/5 Hearts
5/5 Books
5/5 Stars

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments, so comment away! But this is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!