Monday, October 7, 2019

It's Monday! What Are You Reading #435, October 7th

It's Monday! What Are You Reading is a weekly meme hosted by Book Date where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week...and anything in between! This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well...you never know where that next "must read" book will come from!

What happened in the past week:

Weekly Memes:
It's Monday! What Are You Reading #434
Teaser Tuesday #442
WWW Wednesday #442
WOW #438
Will the Time Come #435
Third Sentence Thursday #425
Random Reads #411
First Lines Friday #438
The Reward Challenge Update #420
Book Blogger Hop #104
How Well I Stuck to It #272
Wrote that Review Update #269

Week 40 Reviews:
Before Now
Autoboyography
Be Not Far From Me
All the Things We Do in the Dark
The Athena Protocol
Girl Against the Universe
Problem Child
Watcher in the Woods
Alone in the Wild
The Deepest Roots
Clique Bait
Spellhacker
The Babysitters Coven
99 Days
9 Days and 9 Nights

24 Hour Reading Challenge 1st October:
Sign Up
Update 1
Update 2
Update 3
Update 4
Update 5
Update 6
Update 7 and Wrap Up
OK, so I got 34 posts in 7 days, and it was a pretty fantastic week, I did another reading challenge which is why I read so much this week. I'm happy with this and can't wait for next week! What about you guys? Happy reading!

So this week I want to read Black River FallsThe Body in the Garden, A Constellation of Roses, The Eleventh Metal, The Final Empire, The Fifth Season, The Library of Lost Things, The Lies of Locke Lamora, Our Year in Love and PartiesSteelheart, and An Unkindness of Magicians.

In a town without a memory, there's one who can't forget.

When a mysterious virus tears through the small town of Black River, it spares residents' lives but takes something just as precious—their memories.

Six months later, the people of Black River are quarantined, surviving on rations, and policed by government forces. With their memories erased, they've all been transformed—some for better, some for worse.

Seventeen-year-old Cardinal Cassidy has escaped the virus, but he can't escape its devastating impact on his home and family. He chooses to remain deep within the Quarantine Zone, living in a mountain camp with the town's former bully—now his best friend. Together, they look after a group of orphaned kids and do their best to move on.

But then an enigmatic young woman appears, a private corporation takes control of Black River, and the safe, closed-off world Cardinal has created begins to crumble.
Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Rhys Bowen, Katharine Schellman's debut novel is sure to delight.

London 1815. Newly widowed Lily Adler returns to a society that frowns on independent women, but she's no stranger to the glittering world of London's upper crust. She's back in town and eager to have a renaissance with friends, particularly with Lady Serena Walter--from their school days--determined to create a meaningful life for herself even without a husband. She expects scandal, gossip, and secrets. What she doesn't expect, as she's visiting Lady Walter is a dead man laying in her garden.

Lily happened to overhear the man just minutes before he was shot: young, desperate, and attempting blackmail. When she finds out Lord Walter bribes the investigating magistrate to drop the case, Lily is worried, and becomes the only one with the key to catching the killer.

Aided by Navy Captain Jack Hartley and heiress from the West Indies Miss Ofelia Oswald, Lily sets out to discover whether her friend's husband is mixed up in blackmail and murder. The unlikely team sets out to conceal their investigation behind the whirl of London's social season, but the deceased knew secrets about people with power. Secrets that the powerful have desire and influence to keep hidden. Now, Lilly will have to uncover the truth, before she becomes the killer's next target.
Perfect for fans of Tell Me Three Things and The Astonishing Color of After, A Constellation of Roses is brimming with a magic all its own—lovable and flawed characters, an evocative setting, and friendships to treasure.

Ever since her troubled mother abandoned her, Trix McCabe has preferred to stay on the move.

But when she lands with her long-lost relatives, she finds out that the McCabe women have talents like her own that defy explanation: pies that cure all ills, palm-reading that never misses the mark, knowledge of secrets that have never been told.

Before long, Trix feels like she might finally have found somewhere she belongs. But when her past comes back to haunt her, she'll have to decide whether to take a chance on this new life . . . or keep running from the one she's always known.

More magic awaits in the stunning companion novel, The Deepest Roots, which Booklist called "a must-read" in a starred review!
"This story was written specifically for the Mistborn Adventure Game, a tabletop RPG. Please keep in mind that the story was intended to help a GM bring his players up to speed on the world if they haven’t read the books. There are a few goodies for those who want to know more about Kelsier, but this story is not meant to stand wholly on its own."
Where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. Criminal mastermind Kelsier teaches Allomancy, the magic of metals, to another Mistborn, urchin Vin 16. The unlikely heroine is distracted by rich Venture heir Elend. Can Kelsier's thieving crew take on the tyrant Lord Ruler and bring back colour to their world?
This is the way the world ends... for the last time.

A season of endings has begun.

It starts with the great red rift across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.

It starts with death, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.

It starts with betrayal, and long dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land long familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.
From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother's hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But when a new property manager becomes more active in the upkeep of their apartment complex, the only home Darcy has ever known outside of her books suddenly hangs in the balance.

While Darcy is struggling to survive beneath the weight of her mother's compulsive shopping, Asher Fleet, a former teen pilot with an unexpectedly shattered future, walks into the bookstore where she works…and straight into her heart. For the first time in her life, Darcy can't seem to find the right words. Fairy tales are one thing, but real love makes her want to hide inside her carefully constructed ink-and-paper bomb shelter.

Still, after spending her whole life keeping people out, something about Asher makes Darcy want to open up. But securing her own happily-ever-after will mean she'll need to stop hiding and start living her own truth—even if it's messy.
They say that the Thorn of Camorr can beat anyone in a fight. They say he steals from the rich and gives to the poor. They say he's part man, part myth, and mostly street-corner rumor. And they are wrong on every count. Only averagely tall, slender, and god-awful with a sword, Locke Lamora is the fabled Thorn, and the greatest weapons at his disposal are his wit and cunning. He steals from the rich - they're the only ones worth stealing from - but the poor can go steal for themselves. What Locke cons, wheedles and tricks into his possession is strictly for him and his band of fellow con-artists and thieves: the Gentleman Bastards.

Together their domain is the city of Camorr. Built of Elderglass by a race no-one remembers, it's a city of shifting revels, filthy canals, baroque palaces and crowded cemeteries. Home to Dons, merchants, soldiers, beggars, cripples, and feral children. And to Capa Barsavi, the criminal mastermind who runs the city. But there are whispers of a challenge to the Capa's power. A challenge from a man no one has ever seen, a man no blade can touch. The Grey King is coming. A man would be well advised not to be caught between Capa Barsavi and The Grey King. Even such a master of the sword as the Thorn of Camorr. As for Locke Lamora ...

In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights of epic partying will see two teens through their highest highs and lowest lows over the course of one unforgettable year. Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Mary H.K. Choi!

Tucker knows that some relationships take work. With his best friend, Bobby, and his mom, everything is simple, steady. His dad, on the other hand, seems to only show up when he wants to bring Tucker down. Then there's Erika Green, who comes back into his life, stirring up old feelings. A small part of him knows he shouldn't get too attached during senior year. But a bigger part doesn’t want her to disappear again.

Erika from before the video loved to shock people. Now, she just wants to hole up in her quiet college life and leave the past where it belongs—in a dumpster fire. But then she reconnects with Tucker Campanelli. Erika can't explain what it is about him. There's just this undeniable connection between them, and she really doesn’t want to lose that feeling. Not yet.
David wants Steelheart — one of the Epics said to be invincible, who killed David's father. For ten years, David has studied and planned for revenge. He wants to join the Reckoners. These rebels assassinate the Epics, super-powered tyrants. He has seen Steelheart bleed.
There is a dark secret that is hiding at the heart of New York City and diminishing the city's magicians' power in this fantasy thriller by acclaimed author Kat Howard.

In New York City, magic controls everything. But the power of magic is fading. No one knows what is happening, except for Sydney—a new, rare magician with incredible power that has been unmatched in decades, and she may be the only person who is able to stop the darkness that is weakening the magic. But Sydney doesn't want to help the system, she wants to destroy it.

Sydney comes from the House of Shadows, which controls the magic with the help of sacrifices from magicians.

3 comments:

  1. My son is a fan of the Mistborn series. He plays D&D, I wonder if he knows about the rpg..I’ll have to let him know.

    Wishing you a great reading week

    ReplyDelete
  2. Nice variety of upcoming books. I've read Steelheart and been debating asking for a review copy of The Body in the Garden. Come see my week here. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete

I love comments, so comment away! I'll comment back if you leave a post-specific link for me to visit! If you leave that link, I'll always comment back, even if it's like, a month late!

This is an award free blog! Thanks for thinking of me but I just don't have the time to pass it along!